Kikkoman has two wheat-free sauces that are suitable for gluten-free and coeliac diets - Tamari and Gluten-Free Teriyaki Marinade. Read on to find out more and also which other foods are fine to eat and which to avoid on a gluten-free diet

Salmon dish cooked with gluten free soy sauce

More and more of us are choosing a wheat-free diet, whether diagnosed as coeliac or as a lifestyle choice. Now Kikkoman has made it even easier to go gluten-free with the addition of brand new Gluten-free Teriyaki Marinade to the range so that everyone can enjoy the delicious taste of teriyaki.

Along with the already popular Kikkoman Tamari Gluten-free Soy Sauce, home cooks can whip up even more delectable dishes. It is especially excellent for adding a Japanese flair to barbecues – just marinate chosen ingredients for about 30 mins, then grill over hot coals, brushing over more during cooking for a sweet-savoury flavour and appetising shine.

It’s also tasty with pan-fried food, rice and salads. Or try making our Tuna Poke Rice Roll recipe - a great gluten-free snack that’s a cross between a burrito and sushi!

Tuna Poke rice roll with Kikkoman Gluten Free Teriyaki Marinade

More advice for a gluten-free diet

This is basic guide to help with choosing which foods are suitable for gluten-free diets and which should be avoided. If you are cooking for someone that can’t eat gluten you should double check the ingredients on labels of all foods, or shop in the free-from section of the supermarket to look for a wheat-free version e.g. gluten-free bread and pasta.

Which food and drink are gluten-free:

  • Potatoes, lentils and rice
  • Meat – check processed meat such as sausages do not contain gluten
  • Fish
  • Fruit and veg - check label on any that are processed
  • Fruit juice
  • Wine
  • Spirits
  • Cider
  • Fizzy drinks

Which food and drink are not gluten-free:

Anything that contains: wheat, rye and barley. Some people also cannot have oats

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Cereals
  • Cakes
  • Biscuits
  • Pastry
  • Crackers
  • Pizza
  • Barley squashes
  • Beer and lager
  • Stout and ales

Always check processed foods in tins, packets and ready meals – fresh and frozen – to be sure they do not contain gluten. An be careful when eating out – many restaurants now flag up gluten-free dishes.

Sweet and saucy rice bowl recipe

Gluten-Free Recipes

If you're looking for delicious gluten-free recipes packed full of flavour, then head over to our collection of Tamari Soy Sauce Recipes.