Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce has been available in the UK for the last few years, however we are still asked on a regular basis, what is the difference between tamari and regular soy sauce?

Very simply put, Tamari soy sauce is traditionally made with little or no wheat, where as wheat is one of the 4 common ingredients in regular soy sauce.

Here at Kikkoman our Tamari Soy Sauce is made without any wheat at all and is completely gluten free.

Kikkoman’s Gluten Free Tamari Soy Sauce offers as close to the taste of Naturally Brewed Kikkoman Soy Sauce as possible with a different non-wheat brewing method. Both sauces have a rich and deep flavour which is created through the natural brewing process.

Tamari soy sauce can be easily substituted into your shopping if you lead a gluten free diet and will not make any major differences to the taste of your cooking than using regular soy sauce.

If you are gluten free then be sure to pick up some Kikkoman Gluten Free Tamari Soy Sauce on your next shop, it can be used instead of Kikkoman Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce in all of our recipes, but if you’re after some real inspiration then take a look at these recipes created especially for Tamari.

Tamari Soy Sauce Recipes

Tamari Glazed Salmon

Root Vegetable Cakes

Kale and Chick Pea Rice Bowls

Caramelised Chicken with Lime and Mint

For further Gluten Free recipes using Kikkoman Tamari Soy Sauce, then take a look at our collection of Tamari Soy Sauce Recipes.